Holy Name Medical Center Newsroom

Holy Name Medical Center Press Releases

Keeping you connected to HNMC begins here

Holy Name Medical Center Receives 2017 Women’s Choice Award
Selected as one of America’s Best Hospitals for Cancer Care

For the third consecutive year, Holy Name Medical Center has received the Women's Choice Award as one of America's Best Hospitals for Cancer Care. This evidence-based designation identifies the country's best healthcare institutions based on robust criteria that includes patient satisfaction, clinical excellence and what women want for a quality hospital experience.

"Holy Name's Regional Cancer Center provides skilled, personalized and compassionate care to every patient," said Michael Maron, President and CEO of Holy Name. "This specialized approach improves patient experience and has led us to be consistently recognized as a hospital of choice for women."

Hospitals eligible for this award must be accredited by the American College of Surgeons Commission on Cancer and must perform well clinically based on care measures reported to Centers for Medicaid and Medicare Services. They must also have a high score from the Hospital Consumer Assessment of Healthcare Providers and Systems.

"Women are most often the chief decision-makers for their families' healthcare needs," said Sheryl Slonim, Executive Vice President, Patient Care Services and Chief Nursing Officer at Holy Name. "To be recognized for this award signifies our commitment to the highest standards in patient care, safety and the other measures important to women and their loved ones."

The Regional Cancer Center at Holy Name offers a multi-disciplinary team of board-certified physicians who provide personalized care for every patient's unique type of cancer. Each oncologist specializes in a specific type of cancer and works with other members of the team to perform leading-edge diagnoses, staging and treatment services. In addition to the American College of Surgeons Commission on Cancer, the Center is also accredited by the American College of Radiology and the American Society of Radiation Oncology.